Travel Ban Targets Seven Muslim Countries

Racial Justice

The federal government has closed the nation’s borders to refugees from around the world, and temporarily suspended immigration from seven predominantly Muslim countries: Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia, and Yemen. On February 3, 2017, WGBH’s Basic Black discussed the legal and policy implications of the travel ban with Boston City Councilor Tito Jackson; Abdirahman A. Yusuf, Executive Director of the Somali Development Center; Emerson College Professor Kim McLarin; and Iván Espinoza-Madrigal, the Executive Director of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights and Economic Justice.

The news video is available here: